Campus picture

Conference Presentation


Presentation Information

Title: Creating Engaging Classrooms and Inspiring Future Teachers
Type: Practice Session (Concurrent)
Authors: Alma Robinson (alma.robinson@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

Sam Rosenkrantz (rosenkrs@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

Chris Martin (cmart07@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

Brandon Bear (bearb12@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

Seth Guldin (guldins@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

John Simonetti (jhs@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

Leo Piilonen (piilonen@vt.edu)
      Physics, Virginia Tech, United States

George Glasson (glassong@vt.edu)
      Teaching and Learning, Virginia Tech, United States

Brenda Brand (bbrand@vt.edu)
      Teaching and Learning, Virginia Tech, United States

Catherine Amelink (camartin@vt.edu)
      Dean's Office, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech, United States

Abstract: The need for more STEM majors and improved K-12 STEM education is clear. This presentation will discuss how early teaching experiences has encouraged physics students to consider teaching as a career, improved their own content knowledge, and reformed both university and K-12 classrooms to be more student-centered and engaging. Through the PhysTEC project, a national program to recruit and train future physics teachers, the Virginia Tech Physics Department and School of Education have paired together to encourage physics students to participate in a multitude of early teaching experiences at both the K-12 and collegiate levels. During this presentation, some of these students will discuss the role of these early teaching experiences on their own education and their interest in pursing a career in teaching. The participants will then engage in a discussion on how they can implement similar strategies in their departments to encourage reformed teaching in collegiate classrooms as well as to recruit and train future K-12 teachers in their disciplines.
Full Proposal: 2-page proposal file
Presentation Files: No current files.
Handouts: No current files.
Scheduled:



2014 Conference Proceedings

2014 Full Proceedings
now available online
to download (pdf) or purchase (paperpack).


Primary
Corporate Sponsors






Conference Information