Conference picture

Past Winners of the Teacher of the Week

Rosemary Blieszner


The Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research (CIDER) recognizes Rosemary Blieszner, professor of Human Development, for innovative contributions to graduate education.

At the graduate level of education, Dr. Blieszner has taught numerous courses in gerontology and principles of theory construction in the Department of Human Development as well as the Citizen Scholar Seminar for the Graduate School. She focuses on helping students from multiple fields applying theory and research on the course topic to their unique disciplinary interests. She enjoys having students from disparate disciplines in class because they help one another extend their thinking in new directions, articulate their research goals clearly, and learn to communicate across disciplines. In each course, students master critical concepts, gain extensive knowledge of the research literature, and complete projects designed to advance their thesis or dissertation research. Students often work collaboratively to provide feedback to each other as they develop and present their projects through a series of assignments that build successively toward their unique goals.

Since 1997, Dr. Blieszner has received a number of recognitions for teaching excellence from Virginia Tech, including College Certificate of Teaching Excellence, University Writing Center Exemplary Achievement in Writing Assignment Design Award, Service-Learning Center Outstanding Educator Certificate, University Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching, induction into the Academy of Teaching Excellence, and designation as Alumni Distinguished Professor. She was also named Distinguished Teacher of Gerontology by the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education.


( 756 )

Nominate a
Teacher of the Week

The goal of the Teacher of the Week program is to recognize effective, engaged, and dynamic teachers. Please consider nominating a teacher; the process is clear and concise (no dossiers; see nomination page).

View Past Winners

A list of the past winners is available.